top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAndi Hasley

2 Pina Coladas? I wish.

It has now been almost 8 months since my cancer diagnosis. In some ways time has moved quickly! How has 8 months passed? In other ways, I feel like things have moved at a snail's pace. I didn't do an update in January because it's the first month since my June 18th diagnosis that was dr. visit free! I have had several appointments in the last week - so for those still following, an update.


I saw my new family doctor. Dr. Miller is very nice. Great bedside manner, really listens, asks great questions and tries to find solutions. He's not Dr. Gusic - but who is? :) I have officially lost 20 pounds since my final radiation treatment in August, and for the first time since I got on this rollercoaster my BP was NORMAL in a medical office! I continue to struggle a bit with what I call my "cancer cocktail" (hence the blog title). Dr. Miller suggested I stop taking the Venlaflaxine for a couple days to see if my body has adjusted to the Tamoxifen. No such luck. It was nice to have an appetite for a couple days and not need to go to bed at 8pm. But by day three, the weepiness and depression was coming back (I am thankful I am aware of the signs) so back on the Venlaflaxine I go. It could be worse. I am thankful for the relatively simple treatment options that I have, but I don't love it.


My next follow-up with Dr. Soltani (oncologist) was February 4th. I hadn't seen her since November 4th so it was nice to catch up. BP was finally NORMAL (118/78) at the Cancer and Infusion center. That's a celebration. I am very proud of myself for working on my mind game before this appointment. I talked to her about my frustration with the medication. I have other options of course, but none of them are without risks. So we are going to try and get through the first year on the Tamoxifen. Honestly, most days it's manageable. Here's hoping it gets a little better every day. A few have asked why I have to take this medicine for so long (minimally 5 years). I guess I don't HAVE to. But in people with estrogen-receptor positive cancer, taking Tamoxifen decreases the chance of reoccurrence by 50%. Since I am a relatively young breast cancer patient, my entire medical team thinks this is worth it.


Why do I share so much with the world through this journey? Because I was CLUELESS when it came to what other friends have gone through in their cancer treatment. I wish I had been more understanding to friends that have gone through this journey before me. I will never make that mistake again.


My first mammogram post diagnosis is coming up. Would appreciate prayers for good news and calm nerves. And have a pina colada for me please?

103 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page