top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAndi Hasley

My journey with Breast Cancer - the one trouble I never borrowed

I have always been a rule follower. So when I turned 40 I knew it was time for my first mammogram. I wasn't at all nervous. There's no family history. I figured in 48 hours I would have the all clear see you next year. That was not to be the case.

My mammogram showed pleomorphic calcifications in my right breast in the upper right quadrant. I was rated a risk of 4A - 10% or less chance of cancer. My family doctor was not at all concerned. She said in most cases like this the calcifications are from some kind of trauma? "Were you ever hit with a softball?" "Maybe one of the kids elbowed you when they were toddlers?" "Absolutely go to the lake for the week. We will get the biopsy scheduled for the week you get home."

We enjoyed a week away at a lake house...socially distanced of course. The stereotactic biopsy was scheduled for the Tuesday after we got home. My doctor called me Wednesday night with the results. "Andi I can't believe this. You have cancer." "It's really early." "I will call the office tomorrow at 8:01 and get you into an oncologist ASAP." The rest of that phone call was a blur.

The next day I was in an oncologists office at 11am and it was good news - if you can have good news when you find out you have cancer. Stage 0 - let's get this show started.

And so - my battle with Stage 0 Ductal Carcinoma In Situ began.

156 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page