top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAndi Hasley

Ohhhhhh - we're halfway there

At the end of today's treatment I am officially halfway through radiation. A brief update for those interested:

Luckily, not TONS of side effects yet. The biggest two are a sluggish feeling, especially as the week wears on, and extreme tenderness/sensitivity at the radiation site. This will be TMI for some, but it's especially bad at the nipple - YIKES! What has helped? The amazing Dr. K asked me to buy a two part radiation cream (it was pricey) called R1/R2. He did have a coupon available that brought the price down a bit, but of course insurance doesn't cover this. So far, it's been worth every penny, especially the part 1. This helps with the radiation side effects.

Something that has helped me with the mental game of cancer treatment is COLORING! I have never liked to color - not even as a kid. But a dear friend sent me grown-up coloring books and colored pencils because, in her words "there's a lot of waiting when it comes to a major health event". She was right! Coloring has helped me control the negative and scary thoughts that inevitably creep in during something like this. I will continue coloring long after this crises is over. It also keeps me off of a screen.


Our family continues to manage cancer treatment and recovery during a global pandemic. Thankfully, my family and friends are so supportive and understanding of my restrictions. We are all nervous about what the start of school will look like. It's difficult to make the decision that is best for everyone when we are also dealing with our own health battle. Thanks to all of you that have continued to send cards, meals, gift cards, messages, etc. If you have ever thought about reaching out to someone and haven't done it, I encourage you to reconsider. I am the worst person in the world at sending cards, but the outpouring of support has meant the world to me. I will be changing my ways.

273 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page