top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAndi Hasley

Time for the "Boost"

Today was treatment #17 - 4 more to go! I learned today that I am headed into the "boost" portion of treatment. According to the Susan G. Koman website:

After radiation therapy to the whole breast, you may have more radiation (called a boost) to the part of the breast that had the tumor.

This boost increases the amount of radiation given to the area at highest risk for breast cancer recurrence.


These sessions last just a minute or two longer than the previous sessions, so not a big deal.

So far I have minimal skin burning/irritation. I am attributing this to the amazing cream that I have been faithfully using, but a nurse told me today she thinks it's because my skin tans. I wish my students could've heard her say that. They are always teasing me about being so pale.


The fatigue is REAL this week. I apparently have never experienced actual fatigue before because this is like NOTHING I have ever felt. I know it's temporary, but it's kicking my butt.


I have had so many people reach out to me about maintaining this blog for the long haul of this journey. I am doing it as much for my own memory as I am to inform others. Unfortunately, a few friends have recently begun a journey similar to this one. Please keep them in your prayers, too.


As this part of cancer treatment winds down I will be heading into another "What's Next" appointment at the beginning of September. Cancer is, most definitely, a long game.


PS - So many people continue to ask us if we need anything. The link to our meal train is here: https://www.carecalendar.org/logon/292247?fbclid=IwAR2R5IBK6uUd5GqmWeijQwJAA4_FRV2oAg0xV-fFoF7A_RjjErrJZ26cHrg The security code is 4280.

350 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page