top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAndi Hasley

Closing Time

Well - today's the day. It's the one year mark. The day my calendar changed forever. When I look back in my phone calendar, there's a distinct change that happens on June 18th, 2020 - the word doctor starts appearing a lot more frequently. It's true that I found out the news on June 17th. But for me, the 18th will always be the beginning of a lifelong journey with the trouble I never borrowed. I continue to heal, slowly. I still have tired days, cranky days, sore days. But I also have hopeful days, happy days, restful days. I see my new oncologist in a few weeks and I am looking forward to what being a patient at "The Mothership" of the WVU Cancer Institute brings to my continued care.


Because life is full of irony, today begins our weekend move to Morgantown. Many mental health professionals advise patients to not make any major life changes within one year of a traumatic experience. Well, two new jobs, building a house in a different town, and we just bought a new car - perhaps we are a case study on what not to do. But as Semisonic sings "Every new beginning comes from some other beginnings' end".


So today marks an end:

to living in the place where our kids were born;

to 19 years of teaching, 9 of those spent with my best guy every day;

to driving on interstate 81

to living in the best subdivision ever

and of course we are saying "See you soon" to some of the best friends anyone could ever have. Friends like this you don't say goodbye to.



But is also marks a beginning:

to a return to the town of our Alma Mater

to family dinners and evenings and laughter

to living in the forest

to a new house

to new schools, jobs, and friends

to new doctors and the next phase of survivorship.


Tomorrow the hubs will pull the gigantic moving truck out of the driveway and we will lock the doors of this house for the last time. I realize this"new beginning" that started in 2004 has come to an end. Though I am sad, actually more nostalgic, to leave I am ready for a new beginning. This next beginning, so far, is beyond anything we could've hope for. Time for us to go out to the places we will be from.


160 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page