top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAndi Hasley

Life Goes On

"And I know love needs the pain

Memories serve our sweetest refrain"



Heading toward the third anniversary of my cancer diagnosis. I am doing okay! I've had some medication challenges which led to some medication changes. Monthly injections continue. But, FINALLY, I am feeling like the "old me" again, and that is such a relief. I am still receiving monthly Zolodex injections. Zolodex is a drug that is used to treat a myriad of medical conditions. More about it here: https://www.zoladex.com/


Anyway, receiving these injections takes about 30 minutes from start to finish. Because of this, I spend a decent amount of time with the amazing nursing staff at the WVU Cancer Institute. The injections are delivered through the abdomen, requiring the injection site to receive a local anesthetic that takes a few minutes to be effective, and then the implant is inserted.

As you can imagine, I have gotten to know the nurses that administer these injections pretty well. (It's hard not to when you are in this situation.) I am a people person, so I enjoy chatting with them to pass the time. The nurses usually ask about me, my family, etc, which quickly reveals we are a music household. During my most recent injection, the nurse was talking passionately about her high school band days. As I drove home it occurred to me that nearly every nurse I have seen has shared a story about the impact that arts participation and development has had on their profession. Some examples below:

  • My work ethic is from being in band.

  • I am organized because of my time in show choir.

  • My time management skills come from being in theater.

  • My self-discipline comes from my band director.

  • My child LOVES orchestra.

  • Did you see {insert show that was local recently}? My grandson was {insert role}.

  • My art teacher taught me to look for the intricate details of things.

  • {Insert ANY artistic teacher's name} was INTENSE but I LOVED that class.

I don't know why it continues to amaze me that the Arts are a huge part of telling society's story. It shouldn't because it NEVER surprises me to learn how much these brilliant medical professionals loved their time in these classrooms. The longer I live and the more "life" I experience I am assured that the Arts are where we find and define our soul.


Which leads perfectly to me sharing a career update. I am so excited to head back into the world of the Arts as the Assistant Director of Development at the WVU College of Creative

Arts. I think I was meant to be at the WVU Cancer Institute and with Mountains of Hope during my time of healing. I am truly grateful for the friendships I have made through this position. The team at Cancer Prevention and Control is one of the most intelligent and passionate groups of professionals ever. But we often don't realize how much we need something until it's gone and my soul needs the arts. I can't wait to work with so many who are interested in investing in future artists, projects, and passions.

As Ed Sheeran (and Luke Combs) says in his new song "Easy Come. Hard Go. Then Life Goes On." It was hard to leave teaching. It has been hard to go on after cancer. And it was hard to leave my CPC/MOH family. But I am back "home" at the CAC. And Life Goes On.

197 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page