top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAndi Hasley

Radioactive

Updated: Jun 4, 2021

Day 1 of radiation. I was pretty nervous - as Elsa sings I was, once again, heading into the unknown. It was a piece of cake - at least the first day.

Using the amazing body mold and and tattoos from the last visit the technicians positioned my body beneath the machine. It whirls around for a few minutes, makes a few noises, and then "See you tomorrow". I will go every weekday at 10:15am for 21 total treatments. A few people have asked about the radiation process. I will be blogging along the way but today they told me:

  1. Most common side effects are skin irritation/ burning and extreme fatigue. Those usually start after the first week and last two to four weeks post treatment. I will be playing back to school by ear.

  2. Stay covered when outdoors. Luckily I have a swim shirt for snorkeling. Thanks to amazon there's a lightweight hat and another swim shirt on the way. I love being outside.

  3. Hydrate. Hydrate. Hydrate.

  4. Be cautious. My immune system will be a little depleted from the surgery and then radiation.

Many people have asked about helping out. We are doing fine, but if you're interested in providing a meal the link is here. https://www.carecalendar.org/logon/292247?fbclid=IwAR2R5IBK6uUd5GqmWeijQwJAA4_FRV2oAg0xV-fFoF7A_RjjErrJZ26cHrg The security code is 4280.


Honestly, the worst part of all of this has been caused by COVID-19. The entire planet has suffered in some manner from this new virus; and potentially life-saving changes have been necessary. Some of the changes I would like to keep forever. (Hello more hand washing, no waiting rooms, shopping carts being wiped off, etc.). Some changes have made having and battling cancer a little harder.

  1. Jamie has been able to go to my diagnostic appointment and that's it. He was not permitted in the hospital when I had surgery. He can't go to any of my follow-up visits. He can't go into radiation. We are fine, and we have managed. Sometimes I record the dr. visit so he can listen and so I don't have to try and remember.

  2. I have worn a mask for every mammogram, biopsy, follow-up, etc. I am happy to do it. (And I don't have a choice). But it means that I have never seen the full face of any of my medical team. A small thing, but it's still there.

  3. Like all of my friends with compromised immune systems, I am on lock down. I have visited with people from a distance outdoors, but that's it. And this heatwave has put a damper on those outdoor visits. Again, a small thing in the grand scheme, but it does get to you mentally after while. Thank goodness for FaceTime and zoom.

I realize I come at this from a place of privilege. I have a loving family and support system, health care, an income, transportation, and summers off. I can't imagine the people that also go through health issues without these advantages. I try to be grateful every day.


221 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page