top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAndi Hasley

Love is a Battlefield

Updated: Jun 4, 2021

My surgery was June 30th. A great description of my procedure can be found here https://ww5.komen.org/BreastCancer/LumpectomyTheSurgicalProcedure.html. Science is amazing.

It's a day of procedures but honestly not horrible. The wire insertion (see above) only takes about 30 minutes to complete. Then it's basically straight to the operating room and straight into pre-op. The entire surgery took about 45 minutes, then post op etc.

I am a funny person when I come off of anesthesia. I am pretty certain that I asked the nurse if she had ever been to the Dominican Republic and talked about my love of all-inclusive resorts. It takes me a LONG time to come out of anesthesia - so my husband had an extra hour of wait time. When they talked to him post-surgery he told them - she doesn't wake up quickly in her normal life either.

The surgery was outpatient. Because my cancer cells were a VERY small area the surgeon was able to take a little more than he even thought he could, just to be sure. Initial pathology looks great. I will find out my final pathology at my follow-up next week. Stay tuned.

134 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page