top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAndi Hasley

The Waiting Place


There's a passage in the Dr. Seuss book "Oh the Places You'll Go" that talks about the waiting place. For everyone that's waiting. That's cancer. You wait for test results. Or for your treatment plan. Then your treatment changes - and you wait to see if you will have side effects. The waiting place, for me, is the worst place. There's a great podcast from Vox Conversations where Rabbi David Wolpe talks about suffering and grief, and he references waiting being the most difficult part of a major life change. If you are a person that has struggled, I highly recommend checking out that episode. It was quite affirming.


So in the spirit of being in the waiting place, a health update for those interested. Most recently I had a breast volume ultrasound. This is a more in-depth screening tool for people with extremely dense breast tissue. I was supposed to have this at the beginning of September but kid 2 came down with COVID, so a reschedule was necessary. Though I am grateful for this "next level" of screening, with it comes more waiting. The process was interesting. First, the Betty Puskar Breast Cancer Center is BEAUTIFUL! It was my first visit as a patient and I was so impressed. After getting my gown I was led to a serene waiting room with comfy furniture and televisions and low lighting. A very calming place to wait. As for the test, it was similar to a regular ultrasound, but the tool that was used was more similar to a mammogram plate, but with mesh. They put lubricant on the breast and then the plate lays on top. On top of the mesh is something I would compare to a massage roller, and this moves from one side of the mesh to the other, taking scans of the breast. It took about 30 minutes to do both sides as well as the armpit area. With a diagnostic mammogram the patient finds out the results right after the scan. With the ultrasound, it takes 24-48 hours for results. Needless to say, the waiting was brutal. However, GOOD NEWS! No evidence of cancer found in either breast! Another milestone down.


I continue with the zolodex injections and the arimidex oral medication. Side effects have been mixed. I have some muscle aches (this is common for 60% of people that take these meds). But so far I don't have the fatigue or joint pain like I did on Tamoxifen. My goal is to be on these meds as long as I can tolerate them, because it decreases the chance of cancer reoccurrence by more than 50%. COVID continues to be a challenge for my cancer care - not because of my immune system as much as my exposure. If I have a direct exposure to COVID I can't have my monthly injection, and those injections have to happen every 28 days. So while I would LOVE to live my life "as normal" I continue to have to be cautious. Outside gatherings are fine. Indoors unmasked? Not something I can do, unless everyone is vaccinated. It's an unfortunate dance that many people in maintenance care or active treatment have to perform in order to treat their disease while also living their normal life.


Finally, it's breast cancer awareness month. If you haven't scheduled your mammogram yet, please do so!

Regular screenings are important! If you have any questions or need help scheduling, let me know and I am happy to provide assistance. Background credit to my new coworker/friend Abby Starkey - visual creation extraordinaire!


Thanks as always for the continued prayers and for the number of people that reach out to check on me. I am o.k. One day at a time.


130 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page