top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAndi Hasley

Waterfalls

I have always loved waterfalls - well really anything involving water. Maybe it's cause I am a Scorpio. But I feel like the last 14 months of my life has been a constant waterfall. Swiftly moving from one current to the next. Sometimes the water is slow moving, almost a trickle. Other times it's raging and hectic, even over flowing. Adding to this waterfall was our move. We are getting settled in and finding a routine but it turns out that moving is stressful. And when you have to make appointments and meet an entire new medical team one year after a cancer diagnosis, it's quite hectic. So - a health update for those that are interested.


My new oncologist is Dr. Hafez. She is a ball of energy in the best possible way. I learned quickly that I was in a relatively unique new patient situation. I had completed one year of care, understood my diagnosis and treatment plan, but was not thrilled with my current state of recovery/treatment options. So when Dr. Hafez got to the "overviewing the side effects of Tamoxifen" part of the appointment I actually said "I'm gonna stop you right there and tell you what mine have been because this is not working for me". The direction of the appointment changed drastically at that point and went from overview to in-depth. To Dr. Hafez's credit, she pivoted fast. She really listened to me and immediately had some different treatment options. The goal is to hopefully eliminate some of the side effects I was experiencing. Lots of them were manageable but the joint pain made daily life unbearable at times. (I am not being overdramatic when I say this. There were times I couldn't hold a pen or use a knife to prepare a meal.) I started my new treatment almost a month ago and so far so good. I am having monthly injections of Zolodex and will explore adding an aromatase inhibitor after my body adjusts. So far, no side effects and I actually feel like myself again. I am hoping this continues.


My new surgeons name is Dr. Hannah Hazzard and if you live in WV you have probably heard of her. She is simply amazing. She prescribed some physical therapy to get my right side's movement and strength as close to 100% as possible. WVU Cancer Institute has an on-site physical therapist for all of their patients. I am excited to use this care option and my first appointment is in two weeks. Here's hoping that I regain my strength and mobility.


My new OBGYN is Dr. Renzelli - Cain. Another amazing doctor. At my first appointment she sat with me for an HOUR. She asked about my mental health, my relationship life, my kids, etc. I will be participating in a clinical trial through her office that monitors cardiac health in people undergoing hormone replacement therapies. This will give my medical team more information about my on-going recovery - and it won't cost me anything to participate.


Once upon a time I was naïve enough to think that once a person completed their cancer treatment things were back to normal. It turns out, like the river in waterfalls, this is a life-long journey. Throw in an on-going international pandemic and the current can be scary. Thanks to everyone who continues to check on me, prays for our family or just sends a smile and good vibes. And thanks to those of you who have gotten your vaccine. People like me need everyone that can to get vaccinated. Here's hoping for those slow moving and peaceful currents to become the norm.

200 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page